UM-NSU CARD Community Leadership Award
Dr. Jeffrey Brosco

University of Miami Professor of Clinical Pediatrics and Associate Director of the Mailman Center for Child Development, will receive the UM-NSU CARD Community Leadership Award at Tropical Nights 2019.  Dr. Brosco has been a tireless champion for children with special needs, particularly those with autism, for over 30 years.  His leadership on issues central to the health and well-being of children with disabilities has had local, statewide and national impact.  The Community Leadership Award is given annually to a prominent community leader who has demonstrated a longstanding commitment to building a better world for those with disabilities in our community.

Cruz-Whitehurst Advocacy Award
Craig Leen

Former City Attorney of Coral Gables and UM-NSU CARD Constituency Board Member, will receive the Cruz-Whitehurst Advocacy Award at Tropical Nights 2019.  Craig Leen, the father of two children on the autism spectrum, spearheaded a movement encouraging cities and counties in Florida and beyond to pass resolutions embracing “principles of inclusion” as they relate to citizens with special needs.  For his extraordinary advocacy efforts, Craig Leen will receive the Cruz-Whitehurst Advocacy Award which is named after two of UM-NSU CARD’s most ardent supporters and true beacons of hope and inspiration, Michelle Cruz and Marie-Ilene Whitehurst.